LATM: Surf – Love, Amour, And Other Devices

6 Aug

Photobucket

“Ember Torrent, there’s no simple way to tell you how much you mean to me, so I’ll ask;-“

Photobucket

“-Will you marry me Ember?”

Hydrangeo & Ember came earlier this evening to join us for dinner, and he’d asked if he could have everyone’s attention before kneeling on one knee and proposing to Ember.

Photobucket

Dad took out his portable camera to take pictures every half second while Mom cooed at the process. Ember meanwhile, was standing still, eyes and mouth wide open. Of course, we all knew what she was going to say.

Photobucket

“Of course I’ll marry you Drange! YESYESYES!”

The months leading up to the wedding were hectic, with Ember dropping by every day to go over ideas with Mom. Sometimes Hydrangeo would come along as well, and me, him, Balt, and sometimes Pyro, would go out back and play a game of baseball to pass the time. Hydrangeo was already like an older brother to us, so not much really changed with their engagement.

Photobucket

When the day finally came, Ember strode outside in a dress of her signature colors towards Hydrangeo who wore his signature lavender patterns. Hydrangeo, Balt, and Dad had installed the wedding arch the previous day, with the signature colors of both Ember & Hydrangeo painted on.

Ember had a wide smile on her face as Hydrangeo recited his vows and slid the ring on her finger.

Photobucket

Looking behind me, I could see Dad crying tears of joy. Mom sadly couldn’t make it due to an emergency at work, and somehow, I just knew she’d give them heck for making her work during Ember’s wedding.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Ember recited her vows before sliding the ring onto her future husbands finger.

Photobucket

Photobucket

In unision, we said; “We now declare you man & wife!” With that, they were now Mr. & Mrs. Whisper.

Photobucket

The reception afterwards was short, with our time spent congratulating them and eating cake before they drove off in a limo towards their house together. A part of me felt sad to see Ember grown up like that, though, the rest of me knew she was happy. Besides, it’s not like I won’t see her again. Lav and I have planned a special double date with those two at the stadium after their honeymoon.

Photobucket

“Isn’t that one of the most beautiful things you’ve ever seen ‘Ro?”
“Well, yeah, but I’ve seen better.”

“Better than the moon, huh?”
“Yup,”

Photobucket

“Me.”
“Hm.. nah, I think the moon and I are probably a bit more beautiful.”

“In your wildest dreams poser!”
“Ha! Coming from the person who lipsyncs to Brittle Bee!”

“One time!”

Photobucket

Pyro & his boyfriend, Lumiere, have spent a great deal of time together these past few days. I guess it’s because they’re planning to move out together by the end of the week. Which is cool I guess, I mean, I’m happy for Pyro because he’s always had my back when I needed to wear something nice for a date with Lav. If Lumiere makes him that happy, then heck, I’m happy for the two of them.

Photobucket

“Have I told you how lovely you are in blue?”
“Not lately.”

“Well, you look amazing in it.”
“Aww you.”

Photobucket

“Aww, would you look at those two Oak. They’re absolutely adorable.”
“I’m happy that Pyro’s happy Eavy.”

I know Dad accepts Pyro the way he is, though, I have to admit that the two of us haven’t gotten used to them kissing infront of us just yet. Still, Dad’s like me, he’s happy for him.

“I can’t believe he’s already found somewhere to move to Oak! Really, where has the time gone..?”
“It’s hard for me to believe too Eavy.”

The week seemed to zoom by, with Pyro waving goodbye as Lumiere begrudgingly hauled the rest of Pyro’s belongings into the trunk of his car. Pyro and I said a few words before fistbumping each other goodbye.

Though, as soon as he left, someone else moved in.

Photobucket

“C’mon Balt, let’s have a little fun.”
“Ili.. maybe another time.”

“You always say that though..”

Photobucket

“Because you’re always suggesting it this late at night..”
“Well doing it in the morning isn’t really all that great..”

Photobucket

“Alright, fine.. tomorrow then? Pleeeease?”
“Yeah, alright.. though I need to sleep right now. I’ve got work in the morning, remember?”

“Yeah yeah, building houses and drawing plans, I know.”
“Yeah..”

Photobucket

“Oops, heh.. my bad..”
“Surf.. that’s the third bottle you’ve broken this morning..”

“Yeah, sorry Pops..”

With the help of Dad and Balt, we’d managed to install a bar in the back porch so that I could continue to advance my skills. Mom kept asking Dad if he’d made the right choice in giving me this as a present for turning twenty one the past week. Dad had confidence that if I tried, I could make them proud. I mean, they didn’t send me to a school for aspiring mixologists for nothing.

Sadly, the shards of glass and puddle of juice on the wooden paneling didn’t help my case..

Photobucket

Neither did the quality of my drinks. Honestly, I could’ve sworn the drinks I made during lessons had been better than this crum.

Photobucket

“Heads up Balty!”
“Huh?- Oof!”

Photobucket

“What was that for?..”
“Just trying to do something fun with you! C’mon, grab a pillow and join me!”

“I would, if this wasn’t reserved for kids and if I didn’t have to head out for work in ten minutes.”
“Aw, Balty, you never do anything fun.”

Iliad, being Balt’s girlfriend, was starting to drive some of us a bit crazy with her constant whining of when Balt would get back home from work, or why he is the way he is. Not to be mean, but, I don’t see what Balt sees in her.

Still, I sat down across from her with Lav when she asked if she could talk with us.

Photobucket

“You guys, I need to ask, do either of you know why Balt is always busy doing things without me? I mean, I can understand work, but I don’t understand why he does other things on his own. Like going to those conventions for poetry, baseball games with you Surf, your brother, and sister. I mean, he loves me, right?”

Lav and I sat silent for a while, swapping awkward glances at each other. Honestly, I had no idea if Balt did love Iliad. I mean, she was sort of clingy and annoying. I only knew that they met in his school for architecture before she dropped out to join a school for fashion.

Photobucket

“Well, um, maybe you should talk to him yourself Iliad. I mean, it’s probably healthier for your relationship if you two were to talk out your issues with one another rather than with friends.”

I shuddered at Lav’s use of the word; ‘friends’. I don’t recall being Iliad’s friend.. still, I nodded in agreement with Lav.

Photobucket

“Mhm.. right.. Well I just wanted to ask incase he told you two something as to why. I mean, if we’re going to be together, I should know if something’s wrong. Not like he tells me.”

I arched my eyebrows at the last few words. Wondering why Balt didn’t talk to Iliad about their relationship. I shrugged it off, and noted it as something that shouldn’t be any of my business before walking outside to get a bit of fresh air. Instead, I ran into Balt who’d arrived early from work.

Photobucket

“Balt, hey.”
“Hey.”

“Listen, Iliad’s inside, and she’s been talking to Lav and I about you. Stuff about you not talking to her or spending time with each other enough..”
“..Alright” Balt responded, sounding almost as if he could care less about Iliad’s worries. Still, he walked past me inside to talk with her.

Photobucket

“Balty! You’re home!” Iliad said before planting innumerable kisses on his face. “Can you tell Lav and Surf here that you love me? Please?” Balt looked at her seriously for a moment before asking, “Why..” Iliad rolled her eyes playfully before turning him around to face us. “Just do it, for me.”

With what seemed like reluctance in his expression, Balt faced us,

Photobucket

“Right..” he began before turning away from us. “I.. feel something for Iliad..” Iliad nodded profusely before adding; “Alrighty then, I guess that’s that.” Balt took her arm and led her to the corner of the living room where he seemed to be scolding her in a hushed voice.

Photobucket

I looked at Lav who seemed to have spaced out. She was probably just as confused as I was.

Photobucket

“What is the matter with you today..”
“Nothing Balty, I just wanted to show Lav that you care about me!”

“I thought you wanted to show the both of them.”
“Well yes, though mostly Lav.”

“Why though..”

Photobucket

“C’mon Balty, you can’t honestly say you don’t notice her staring at you eighty percent of the time! I’m pretty much saving her relationship with your brother by, you know, letting her know that you don’t feel the same way about her.”
“..And you couldn’t have just told me before..”

“You probably would’ve said no, because you’re Balt, and you always say no to my suggestions.”
“..Right.. I probably would’ve..”

Photobucket

“Remind me why I am doing this again..”
“Because you need to be more fun Balty!”

“Right..” Balt responded before launching himself onto the waterslide.

Photobucket

Lav bought this the other day at the mall and decided it would be fun to try it out, though we didn’t plan on Iliad and Balt joining us.

Photobucket

Still, we managed to have some fun, even if Iliad kept cheering on an unamused Balt when it was his turn to go.

Photobucket

“Whoooo!”

Leave a Reply

